After the society had to cancel it’s annual Ursula Krusen Award Dinner due to COVID 19, our secretary, Dr. Kim Barker suggested to the board that the competition be held virtually via Zoom.  Last night the Texas PMR Society hosted the 2020 Ursula Krusen Competition virtually where 4 of the top residents in the state present their research to the group.

It was announced that the winner was Dr. Dominique Van Beest, a senior resident at UTSW PMR.   She gave a compelling presentation on what killed Superman.  Her presentation title was “Healthcare Utilization and Associated Outcomes of Stage III/IV pressure injuries in Veterans with Spinal Cord Injury”.

It was then announced that our runner-up was Dr. Jay Karri, a PGY 3 at Baylor College of Medicine Houston.  His presentation on “Novel Mechanistic Insights of Chronic Neuropathic Pain following Spinal Cord Injury” sparked great feedback from the members.