Ursula Krusen Award

Ursula M. Leden Krusen was a doctor and professor that was born in Breslau, Germany on March 13, 1921. Ursula immigrated to the United States in 1938 and became a naturalized citizen in 1944. She received a BS from College of New Rochelle, NY in 1941 and a medical degree from Loyola University in Chicago, IL in 1944. She earned a Master’s Degree in Physical, Medicine from University of Minnesota in Rochester in 1949. She married Dr. Edward Krusen in 1948.

After serving as an intern at Henrotin Hospital in Chicago and a fellowship at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN, she moved to Texas in 1959 to serve as chair of the department of physical, medicine and rehabilitation at what is now UTSW in Dallas, Texas. In Dallas, she became a pioneer in physical medicine across the southwest. Ursula Krusen also was instrumental in establishing the first department of PMR at Parkland Hospital and was chairwoman from 1959 – 1966.

She wrote multiple publications and was very active in the Texas Medical Association, American Medical Association, and American Academy of PMR. In the early years of the Texas PMR Society, they established an award in her honor to promote research with the residents in the state. This award is open yearly to residents and fellows in any one of the 6 programs in Texas.

1995 Lisa Ann Gooch, MD

1997 Teresa Kaldis, MD

1998 James E. Andicone, DO

1999 Kenneth Adams, MD

2000 Madhuri Motaparthi, MD

2001 Stephanie Le, MD & Wes Foreman, MD

2004 Matt Bayazitoglu, MD

2005 David Lo, MD & Jim Ksybe, MD

2008 Shana Johnson, MD

2009 Whitney Chouteau, DO

2015 Danish Ali, MD

2016 Brittany Bickelhaupt, MD

2017 Lori Yap, MD

2018 Patrick Spicer MD PhD & Joseph William DO

2019 Cameron Collier,MD & Benjamin Shahabi-Azad,MD

2020 Dominique Van Beest , MD

2021 Bei Zhang MD